Baked Cherry Cheesecake

A slightly sad looking final slice of cheesecake....

I am sure we all have “go to” recipes for times when we are in a hurry, or just want to return to an old favourite.  I adore baked cheesecake and have been using an adapted version of a BBC Good Food one for several years now.
When I found out that I had been asked to make a dessert for lunch with friends, I got out my cream cheese and eggs and quickly got to work. Apologies for the photo, I forgot to snap it in all its glory before we attacked it!

Ingredients

  • 12 crushed digestive biscuits (graham crackers)
  • 50g melted butter
  • 600g cream cheese
  • 2 level tablespoons of flour
  • 175g sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 150ml whipping cream (or heavy cream)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 jar of cherry jam plus I used some of my cherries in brandy (drained)
  • 1 sachet of flavourless gelatine or vegetarian substitute

Heat the oven to 180º C or gas mark 4.  Mix the crushed biscuits with the butter and press into a springform tin. Bake for 10 minutes and leave to cool.

Beat the cream cheese, flour, sugar and eggs together then add the cream and vanilla essence and then any fruit filling (not the jam).  Blend gently, pour into the tin and bake for 45 minutes.  It will still be slightly wobbly in the centre but leave to cool out of the oven.  It will continue to cook slightly.  I have to confess mine always cracks, I don´t know if there is a way around this – I´d be happy to learn!

For the topping you can either just cover with fruit or make a jelly fruit topping.  I did this by adding a sachet of powdered gelatine to about 4 tablespoons of cold water.  In a small pan warm the jam until it starts to bubble then pour it over the gelatine and mix well until all the granules have dissolved.  Leave it to cool down until almost cold and starting to set then pour over the cheesecake (still in the tin).  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours and remove from the fridge an hour before serving to reach room temperature.

79 thoughts on “Baked Cherry Cheesecake

  1. I love digestive biscuits. Like LOVE. From McVites. I used to have my friend send me them (and the chocolate covered one) from England every year along with Ginger Nuts. Now she’s gone and I’m sad 😦

    But this cheery cheesecake is enough to brighten my day. It looks very rich and decadent Tanya! I would say I’d attempt but the best cheesecake I’ve managed to make is in a jar. Every time I try to do a whole one something, goes wrong – sinking, cracking, not knowing when it’s done. I have just given up on cheesecake all together. I’ll live vicariously through all you wonderful cheesecake bakers/makers.

    1. Yay – another McVities fan! We can actually get McVities digestives and chocolate digestives here (the company has a different name but they are the same brand) but not Ginger Nuts. If you send me your address I´ll send you some! In the meantime, we´ll have to search out a recipe for Ginger Nuts as I love them too 🙂

      1. Oh yipee!!!! This just made my entire month!!!!! I’m so excited. I must say that that is very sweet of you. Address coming right now (hahaha).

  2. My remedy for a cracking cheesecake is oven temperature. Long slow bake. Start with a cold oven; don’t preheat! And when the baking is through, turn the oven off and leave the cake in until the oven is cold again. I’m not good with conversions, but 3 hours at 225-250 F always works for me! Cracks or no, your cheesecake is gorgeous!

    1. Wow – thanks for that! I know I covered up the cracks with the topping, but it´s good to know a few tricks like this for when I´m not using one. Thanks so much!

  3. I’m not a big dessert person, but I can’t resist cheesecake, especially with cherries in brandy. I bet you had some nice Solera or similar 😉

  4. Adding some of your cherries in brandy must have made the cheesecake extra special. I let my cheese cake cool in the oven with the door cracked open. That seems to help with the cracks similar to what Heather suggested.

  5. Boozey brandied cherries baked with rich and creamy cream cheese – sounds like a culinary duo destined to be! This looks and sounds fabulous Tanya, and easy to see how it’s become a go-to! Might even be a got-to!

  6. I saw the title of this post in my email inbox and started salivating — and the recipe didn’t disappoint. You can come up with this as your “go to recipe”? My go to recipe is just that. I go to the bakery and buy a dessert. Maybe that will change now that I’ve got this recipe. Thanks!

  7. Having stated on a few occasions that I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake, I have to say that the recipes I’m seeing from fellow bloggers are making me rethink, and more than that…want some badly! Yours looks easy, delectable and with those brandied cherries…oh my! 🙂

  8. I really need to move to Spain and be your new best friend. That cheesecake looks fabulous.
    P.S. I always used to keep a plentiful supply of gingersnaps for my friends donkeys – for some reason donkeys LOVE them!

  9. Oh that looks just delicious.
    I think I’ve baked cheesecake about once in my life. My cheesecake ‘go to’ recipe is from a cookbook I bought 50 years ago and it is not cooked. Great to make the day before its needed.
    My connection with cooked cheesecake tends to be a summer thing; to enjoy with a glass of wine at any nearby vineyard cafe; chatting with friends for a lazy afternoon tea.
    Thanks for the reminder that I haven’t done that this summer just gone.

  10. Oh my God… I love cherries, I love cheesecake… can you believe I’ve never made a baked cheesecake before… but you know what? I’ve found the one I want to start with. This is hitting my menu for next weekend. It looks absolutely incredible… I’ll let you know how it goes!

    1. It seems that quite a few of us tend not to make baked cheescakes (well, I do now, but avoided it for years!). Can highly recommend this one, even with the little adaptations I had to make from the original recipe.

  11. What a scrumptious-looking slice of cheesecake! Cheesecake is definitely at the top of my list of favorite desserts. 🙂

  12. No apologies necessary. I’m just happy you snapped a drool-worthy photo for all of us to appreciate. The next time I invite friends for lunch I’m assigning one of them THIS recipe. I adore cheesecake.

    Now, I have to go see what the cherries in brandy are all about!
    Allison

  13. Beautiful dessert! The first time I used digestive biscuits was in a dessert I made in honor of Prince William and Kate’s wedding. It was Prince Williams favorite dessert as a child. The biscuits were delicious. I can’t wait to try this recipe using them again as a crust for your cheesecake. Sounds perfect!

    1. Oh yes I rememebr reading about his love for what I think we call Chocolate Refrigerator cake – I´ve posted a recipe for that too! The biscuits are so simple but one of my favourites. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  14. That looks amazing. I have a great recipe for ginger biscuits that my husband, a lifelong McVities fan, prefers to the shop bought time. And they’re a ‘snap’ to make. (Sorry…couldn’t resist).
    I’ll copy it up and send it to you.

    1. Please do send the recipe as I made, or tried to make, a recipe from Delia Smith Complete Cookery Course after seeing Tia´s message. I can´t believe anyone tested it as it wouldn´t bind together and then the bottoms burnt before the tops were cooked at the temp they said. Disaster, but the chickens liked them! I know I´ll go “nuts” for your recipe…sorry, had to join in 😉

  15. So gorgeous Tanya!! Now you know aside from biscotti, baking cheesecake is my favorite!! But I’ve never, ever made a gelatin topping! You blew me away on this one!! And, of course, once I’m settled back into my life, I must try this!! Your slice looks so creamy and delicious!!

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a comment!